Dance

How I Fell in Love with Dancing Again

FullSizeRender-2
Year 1999, four-year old me put on a pink tutu and ballet slippers for the first time. Fast forward eleven years, a couple dozen competitions and countless hours later in the studio and you could say I more than fell in love with dance.
Dancing quickly became more than just an after school activity. Since my first tap shoe hit the competition stage at the age of seven I knew I was born for this.
By ten years old I started to get serious about my future in dance. I would
dream of being in the classic “Nut Cracker” performance. My favorite style of dance was Ballet and that was always my strength too. Today, it seems someone is always complimenting me on how graceful and poise I am; not to mention I have legs and arms for days. I was simply built to dance.
The studio became my second home, not just mine but all my dance sisters. We would start at 7 am and not finish sometimes until 9 at night (with breaks of course). We all became one big family in and outside of the studio.
FullSizeRender-3
All those hours paid off when it came to competing, we were ready, I was ready. I won my first high gold solo performance at eleven then won second place during a scholarship round. And our team went on to win many more group awards. Many props to my dance teacher. One of my favorite parts of dancing was preparing for competition. I would never be able to sleep the night before. I loved every aspect from hair and make up to all my glittered up rhinestoned costumes that cost a fortune (thanks mom and dad). It was fun for a while then a few years passed and I became mentally and physically drained. At thirteen it’s a lot of pressure. I saw most of my friends trying new things and going new places, I felt left out. Every day was school, dance, eat repeat. I started losing my drive. I was given two choices: dance or a social life.
By the time I got to high school I made the hardest decision of my life, I took a break. I played tennis and basketball but nothing filled that void quite like dancing. I couldn’t get through one basketball game without someone telling me how graceful I ran. Dancing followed me everywhere. When I entered my freshman year of college I decided to join a dance club and instantly regained by drive back. FullSizeRender-1
Now in my last year of undergrad I dance just as much as I did when I started. Truth be told I will never stop, it is what my heart and soul live off. I remembered the feeling stepping on stage for the first time, I was born to do this.  “I dance because there is no greater feeling in the world than moving to a piece of music and letting the rest of the world disappear”.
Leave a Reply

