Leader

I Promise, It’s Worth It

It started with one person seeing something in me I had not yet discovered in myself. That is essentially the beauty of relationships with others, they recognize your God given potential even when you don’t.

I feared, probably too much. I feared of disappointment, letting others down, especially those close to me. I dwelled on the “what if’s” and “maybe’s”. But what I feared most was failure.

“Feared“being the key word, I no longer fear for a recent growth I have seen in myself has proven fear is only a state of mind.

This past August I decided it was time to do something for me, push myself to do and be more. I entered myself in a local scholarship program. Little did I know this program would literally change my life.

First, the people. And they’re not your “average Joe’s”; they’re extraordinary women who quickly became my role models and who I could see myself being. The love they have for each other, the unique talent’s they possess, the passion and drive they hold for their communities is inspiring.

Second, the skills. During my entire secondary education career I was petrified of public speaking. My face turned beat red, my lips would shake and my confidence didn’t exist. Through the program I can proudly say I have gained the confidence and communication skills to deliver a well thought out presentation.

Third, growth. It’s an indescribable flood of emotions when you feel yourself grow and change into the person you want to become. The moment I realized the one person who saw something in me I finally saw in myself.

I was recently given the honor of being crowned Miss Merrimack 2017. I can now confidently say I am ready to take this position head on. It is my responsibility to be a positive role model, a leader and an advocate for my community.  But that is not the end of my success, the journey has just begun.

“I am convinced success is not measured by what you get out of life, but what you give back.” -Jerry Moran

To the program women who have become my sisters, my close family and friends and all others who continuously support me, thank you. For you saw my potential, my persistence and my hard work, even though it took me a little longer to realize. Together we have taken “fear” out of my life.

The next time you fear to try something, chances are, it’s opportunity that could potentially be life changing. I promise, it’s worth it.

 

Leave a Reply

