Advice, Glamour Queen, Life, Self

Journey To The Crown: Less Than 100 Days

So you won a local title, now what…?

After my crowning nearly two months ago, I was overjoyed, overwhelmed and really had no idea what I was getting myself into. I was told the amount of preparation that goes into Miss NH and holding a local title in general, but like everything else in life, you never really understand it until you’re experiencing it.

The moment the crown is pinned to your head and the satin sash is draped over your dress, you accept a huge responsibility. You are not just a young woman with the beautiful dress and the elegant walk, you are a woman who takes action, makes a difference and truly wants to alter the way of the world.

But we are still human and even though I consider us all Super Women, life can still get in the way. I am currently finishing up my last semester of undergrad, nannying at various times throughout the week, working part-time at a hospital, hitting the gym as much as possible, contemplating graduate programs and trying not to neglect my sisterhood. It’s safe to say, I think I am stressed about my stress. You may be thinking, “Why the heck would you want to take on this much?” Well, I absolute love it, plain and simple. With all that life has already tossed at me in 2017, I’ve learned opportunities like this, don’t show up at your door every weekend like a college party does.

Now, coming from a gal who has never experienced this before or even having the tiniest bit of knowledge, I have to give myself some credit. Most days are jam-packed with either study sessions or dance rehersal, but I am loving the person I am becoming throughout this process.

And it’s not just me I see growth in, it’s all of the young women who have competed, are competing and will compete in the future. Together, we’ve raised thousands of dollars for Children’s Miracle Network, on top of being ambassadors for our own platforms.

So, back to the question, “You won a local title, now what?” Now, the hard work really begins. Just because you win, doesn’t mean you stop giving back or giving up. You won for a reason, remember that reason and run with it, it’s what made you stand out.

If we can all agree on a few things, it is that we love service, we cherish friendships and we will happily and proudly cheer on our state winner. We are all doing the very best we can and I thank each individual for being open, honest and a bit brutal at times. You do it because you care and want to see me do well.

To anyone feeling stressed about this right now, take a deep breath. Focus your thoughts on why you joined this program and the difference you are making in your community. This should hopefully redirect your (maybe) scattered brain and help you conquer and align everything to come in the next few months.

With less than 100 days to go, make the best of it. It is going to be over before we know it! (Until next year of course!)

 

Leave a Reply

