Life, Self

This is More Than a Scholarship Program, This Changed My Life 

It was the year 2000. My kindergarten class was throwing a career day party. I remember way too vividly my classmates dressing as doctors, teachers, and veterinarians. Then there I am, standing with my purple boom-box, microphone in hand ready to sing “Hit Me Baby One More Time”, by Brittany Spears. I wanted to be famous. With absolutely zero fear, I sang the entire song while throwing in some killer dance moves. Everyone clapped and cheered, and from that moment on I knew I was meant to perform.

17 years later and I am competing with the Miss America Organization. Now if you told me a few years ago I was going to be competing for the title of Miss New Hampshire, I would’ve laughed at you. Because somewhere along the way between the ages of 5 and 18, I lost my spark. I wanted nothing to do with the spotlight, until about 8 months ago, a couple of people introduced me to the program.

My first competition was August of last summer and I had no idea what I was getting myself into. Television does a great job at putting stereotypes in your head about certain things and this was one of them. What I thought I knew was girls ruining dresses, stealing jewelry and buying their way to the top. And I couldn’t have been more wrong.

I was immediately welcomed into what I know now is a sisterhood. Five pageants later, a local title holder and just wrapped up one of the best weeks of my life, Miss New Hampshire Week.

I have never met so many strong, confident, empowering, independent young women. We all want to see positive changes in this world and I believe wholeheartedly we will achieve those aspirations.

As a young teen my only aspiration was to get through a presentation with out my face turning bright red. Being terrified of public speaking was an understatement. Beside the sunburnt lobster look, my lips would shake, I talked a million miles a minute, and my heart was ready to beat right out of my shirt.

During my first local I was again, terrified of standing in front of five or six strangers and confidently speaking for ten minutes. But that’s the magic of this program, I’m over it and interview is now one of my favorite portions, and I get to spread awareness on a platform I have passionately fell in love with.

To be honest I have passionately fell in love with everything about this program. Scholarship money for school is a plus but watching myself and other women grow into who we want to be, in my eyes is the best part. This has one-hundred percent changed the direction of my life forever, and I could not be more thankful.

The experience at Miss NH was indescribable. Being on stage, soaking up the audience finally brought back the five-year old me, the person I’ve always want to be.

Thank you to my family, friends, my two awesome directors and anyone else who has supported me throughout this journey. It’s not an easy one to accept at first but you backed me up no matter what. Thank you to the 28+ new friends I now have, for I know I can go to you for anything. And Thank You to the Miss America Organization, this is not the last time you’ll see me on the Miss NH stage. Until next year!

“You will recognize your own path when you come upon it, because you will suddenly have all the energy and the imagination you will ever need.”

Leave a Reply

