Advice, fitness

Who Else Has Slipped off The Band-Wagon?

Last weekend was the 4th of July, one of my favorite holiday’s of the year. A long weekend filled with beer, cheese (one of my weaknesses even though I am lactose intolerant), the sun, fireworks and many, many games of corn-hole.

My problem occurs once my habits from the weekend start spilling over into my week. Holiday’s, especially a large party one can really screw up even the most strong-willed healthy eaters. I think I have eaten my weight in Tostitos Tortilla Chips these past seven days.

This week I have simply felt horrible, for a lack of a better word. I have neglected my food-prep and fallen for the chocolate-chip cookies that are baked at my work. The warm, gooey center is too hard to resist, all while knowing the small delights are filled with 25 grams of carbs… From the outside looking in, I still look the same and when I step on the scale my physical weight hasn’t changed. If anything that proves the scale means absolutely nothing sometimes and really how you feel.

I wouldn’t say I have completely fallen off the band-wagon, but more like half of my body is struggling to stay on. Luckily, this has happened to me more than a few times and it will probably end up happening again. I have learned a few tricks to getting right back on, before the band-wagon takes off and never turns back around.

Start Slow

Even if it’s been a few days or a few months, slowly make your way back into your routine. Start with either meal prepping or heading back to the gym. Doing both at once can overwhelm your system and have greater consequences. Go a for a walk or light jog with a friend or Pinterest new prep recipes. Take it easy and enjoy getting back into the swing of things.

Drink Plenty of Fluids

Our bodies are composed of almost 80% water. Staying hydrated will never go out of style. Drinking water regulates your body temperature, hydrates your skin and flushes toxins out of your body to name a few. Replenishing your body after a long weekend of drinking alcohol, will give you that much needed boost of energy you’ve been lacking.

Set New Goals

Falling off does have a perk and that is having a fresh perspective. Was your old gym routine getting boring? Were you sick of making the same meals? Falling off the band-wagon can sometimes be a result of getting bored with your routine. Try a new fitness class, swap meal ideas with your friends and set new goals. Setting new goals can give you the motivation you’ve been missing to get back into it. We all do this for a reason, what is yours?

Forgive Yourself

We are all human and eating 100% clean and powering through a work-out every day isn’t realistic. Even the professionals have a piece of cake or two here and there. It’s about a healthy lifestyle and finding the balance. The faster you forgive yourself the faster you’ll be to getting back on track.

 

“Eat Clean, Train Mean, Fight For It”

Processed with VSCO with t1 preset
Processed with VSCO with t1 preset

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

